APPENDIX 4: RESOLUTIONS

RESOLUTION ESTABLISHING THE PIATT COUNTY REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

WHEREAS, in 1970 Piatt County created and adopted the *Comprehensive Plan for Piatt County*; and

WHEREAS, significant demographic and economic changes have occurred in Piatt County over the intervening 37 years; and

WHEREAS, the creation and maintenance of an up to date comprehensive plan promotes the health, safety, general welfare and prosperity of the people of Piatt County; and

WHEREAS, the *Illinois Counties Code* (55 ILCS 5/5-14) authorizes counties to establish a regional planning commission to create a regional comprehensive plan for the county; and

WHEREAS, a broad-based representative body will ensure consideration of the varied interests of persons in Piatt County and provide sound guidance to the County Board; and

WHEREAS, the County Board desires to create a plan that looks forward 20 or more years and which will be a living document referred to regularly in making decision and updated regularly as conditions and needs change:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that.

- 1. The Piatt County Regional Planning Commission (hereafter referred to as Commission) is established for the purpose of creating a comprehensive update to the 1970 Comprehensive Plan for Piatt County, Illinois.
- 2. The plan update will encompass the entirety of the unincorporated area of Piatt County and will be developed in cooperation with municipalities that have adopted extraterritorial comprehensive plans.
- 3. The following individuals are appointed in their personal capacities to serve as voting members on the Commission, without compensation, for the entirety of its term:

Roger Hendrix, Bement Township Ron Mulvaney, Bement Township Sandy Manuel, Blue Ridge Township Dave Sherman, Blue Ridge Township John McRae, Cerro Gordo Township Bill Sparks, Cerro Gordo Township Dale Allen, Goose Creek Township Jim Reed, Goose Creek Township Ron Davis, Monticello Township
Dick Wilkin, Monticello Township
Paul Doane, Sangamon Township
Madonna Smith, Sangamon Township
Paul Quick, Unity Township
John Lyons, Unity Township
JoAnn Shafer, Willow Branch Township
Dave Thompson, Willow Branch Township

4. The following persons are appointed ex-officio non-voting advisory members of the Commission:

Trish Gale, Piatt County Zoning Administrator & GIS Officer Jonathon Manuel, Resource Conservationist, Piatt County Soil and Water Conservation Nancy King, Piatt County Extension Director, University of Illinois Extension Jerry Schauf, Piatt County Highway Engineer

- 5. The County Board designates Commission members Jim Reed to serve as Chairman and Dick Wilkin to serve as Vice-Chair. The Vice-Chair is to serve in the absence of the Chair.
- 6. The Commission may adopt its own bylaws and set its own meeting times and place.
- 7. Any vacancy that may arise on the Commission will be filled by the usual process of appointment by the Piatt County Board. The County Board Chair may remove a Commissioner subject to any proceedings required by law.
- 8. The Commission shall work in concert with one or more consultants and with other professional assistance as may be provided by the County Board. The Commission may seek additional technical expertise provided that no expenditure for such purpose may be made except by the County Board at its discretion.
- 9. The term of the Commission runs from the effective date of this resolution to the time the County Board adopts, by resolution, a comprehensive update to the Comprehensive Plan for Piatt County, Illinois, unless the term of the Commission is ended earlier or extended by vote of the County Board. Upon expiration or termination of its term, the Commission will have no further charge or authority.

PRESENTED, ADOPTED, APPROVED AND RECORDED this 11th day of September, 2007.

SIGNED:

ATTESTED:

K. Max Olson, County Board Chair, Piatt County, Illinois

Pat Rhoades, County Clerk

Ex-officio Clerk of the County Board

Piatt County, Illinois