Cibola County Commission Regular Meeting Wednesday August 24th, 2016

The Cibola County Commission held a Regular Meeting on Wednesday August 24th, 2016 at 5:30 pm in the Cibola County Commission Center

Elected Officials Present Staff

T. Walter Jaramillo, Chairman Robert Armijo, 1st Vice Chairman Jack Moleres 2nd Vice Chairman Patrick Simpson, Commissioner Tony Boyd, County Manager Julie Quintana, Executive Assistant Joseph Sanders, Finance Director Frances Medina, Purchasing Agent Elisa Bro, County Clerk Natalie Grine, Rec/Filing Clerk

A. CALL TO ORDER

T. Walter Jaramillo, County Chairman called the meeting to Order at 5:51 pm.



B. <u>ROLL CALL</u>

Commissioner Jaramillo does roll call 4-5 Commissioners in attendance. Commissioner Felipe was absent.

C. <u>Pledge of Allegiance</u> Recited by all.

D. <u>Prayer</u> Commissioner Moleres led us in prayer.

E. <u>Approval of Agenda</u>

Motion to approve the agenda made by Commissioner Armijo, second by Commissioner Simpson 4-0 affirmative.

F. Approval of Minutes

July 27th, 2016 Regular Meeting.

Commissioner Armijo made a motion to approve the minutes for the Regular Commission meeting of July 27th, 2016 second by Commissioner Moleres 4-0 affirmative.

H. Public Comments

Rony Pynes asked what the outstanding debt was for the Detention Center, which was built with Bond money. Joseph Sanders replied that he would get those figures for Mr. Pynes.

Mayor Moody Hicks thanked the Commissioners for putting Resolution 16-41 on the agenda for approval. Mr. Hicks stated that the parking lot for the High School was much needed.

I. Presentation

a. Employee of the Month

Yolanda Sanshu- Vallo was announced as employee of the month for August Manager Boyd stated that Yolanda was chosen for her hard work and dedication.

b. Volunteer Fire Fighters Introduction

Joe Desoto and Dustin Middleton introduced the Volunteer Fire Departments from Cibola County.

1. Bluewater Volunteer Fire Station

Chief Preston Neff introduced his crew, and mentioned that they have been in existence since 2010 and their ISO is a 6.

2. Candy Kitchen Volunteer Fire Station

Chief Mike Sweet introduced his crew and mentioned they have been in existence since 1984 and their ISO is a 9 and working on getting it lower.

3. Cubero Volunteer Fire Station

Chief Joe Desoto introduced his crew and mentioned that they have been In existence since 1995, and their ISO is a 9.

- d. Consideration of Resolution 16-43, Forfeiture Act.
 Motion to approve Resolution 16-43 was made by 2nd Vice- Chair Moleres, second by 1st Vice- Chair Armijo 4-0 affirmative.
- consideration of Resolution 16-44, Procurement Policy.
 Motion to approve Resolution 16-44 was made by 1st Vice- Chair Armijo, second by Commissioner Simpson 4-0 affirmative.
- f. Consideration of Resolution 16-45, Indigent Burial Program Policy. Motion to approve Resolution 16-45, made by 1st Vice- Chair Armijo, second by Commissioner Simpson 4-0 affirmative.
- g. Consideration of Resolution 16-46, Finance Policy.
 Joseph Sanders asked the Commission to have this tabled until the next
 Commission Meeting.
 Motion to Table Resolution 16-46 was made by Commissioner Simpson, second

by 1st Vice- Chair Armijo 4-0 affirmative.

 h. Consideration of Resolution 16-47, Participation in the Transit System.
 Motion to approve Resolution 16-47 was made by 1st Vice- Chair Armijo, second by Commissioner Simpson 4-0 affirmative.

K. Managers' Report

Manager Boyd stated to the Commissioners that the El Morro Fire Station still needs plans drawn up for electrical work, a propane heater needs to be installed also, and concrete to be finished.

Manager Boyd also mentioned that Joseph Gallegos approached him to see if the county would be interested in buying the property on the west side of the Road Department for expansion, Manager Boyd told him he would mention it to the Commissioners at the next Commission Meeting.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

APPROVED, ADOPTED AND PASSED on this 28th day of September, 2016.

mer

Robert Armijo Commissioner, District I

T. Walter Jaramillo Commissioner, District II

Male Jack Moleres

Commissioner, District III

Patrick Simpson Commissioner, District IV



ABSTAINED Lloyd F. Felipe Commissioner, District V

Attest:

Elisa Bro Cibola County Clerk

